Rose Jelly

Rose jelly?  Is that crazy? No way it is yummy!  At this point I have made lilac and now rose jelly and I can’t wait to make more.  Making jelly from flowers is super easy and next time I think  I might try an herbal/flower jelly?  What herbs? What flowers?  As for herbs, the sky is the limit and for flowers I would make sure they are an edible flower to be safe. Ready?  Get those scissors and go cut off a few rose blooms. Look for flowers that haven’t been treated with any chemicals or contaminated by any animals.

Strong smell and freshly bloomed is makes the best jelly.

Strong smell and freshly bloomed makes the best jelly.

Then you pull all the petals off so that you can check for bugs or whatever may hiding.

This smells so heavenly...

This smells so heavenly…

Now see how many you have and put in a jar with an equal amount of HOT water.

3 cups of rose petals

3 cups of rose petals

Petals are in a jar and I add 3 cups of HOT water.

Petals are in a jar and I add 3 cups of HOT water.

Stir to make sure all petals are in the water.  Then cover and wait 24 hours.  The rose petals aren’t as pretty are they?

Pretty huh?

Pretty huh?

Not as pretty looking but still smells great!

Not very pretty anymore  but still smells great!

Now to make the jelly, the first thing you will need to do is get your jelly jars steralizing.  I used my stock pot since this is a small job.  Put a wire rack on the bottom of the pan first.  You will need to heat up the lids too.

Add a couple tablespoons of vinegar to the water if you have hard water.  It will help you not get the white cloudiness on the jars (mineral deposits).

Add a couple tablespoons of vinegar to the water if you have hard water. It will help you not get the white cloudiness on the jars (mineral deposits).

I just throw my rings in too.  Do not boil the lids!

I just throw my rings in too. Do not boil the lids!

Now that your your stuff is ready get ready to make jelly!     Trust me, this could not get any easier!  You will need rose infused water, pectin, sugar and lemon juice.

007 Since I had three cups of infused water, I went with a cup and a half of sugar, 6 tablespoons of pectin (I use the low sugar kind), 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and the infused water. It takes a lot more pectin since there is no natural pectin in the rose infusion.  Once it’s all mixed turn on the burner to med-high and stir! Now get out your canning supplies (funnel, magnet thingy, bubble popper/measurer, and jar lifter) plus you will need a rag to wipe the tops of the jars off with and a spoon to scoop the foam of with (not much foam though).

Your basic set up and I also plus a ladle. I never remember the ladle till I need it.

Your basic set up plus a ladle. I never remember the ladle till I need it.

What you need to do now is pour your infused water, pectin, lemon juice and sugar into a large pan and stir well.  Once it’s all mixed up turn the burner on to medium-high.

This is how it looks and I skim the foam off so my jelly will be clear.  You won't get much foam with this jam.

This is how it looks and I skim the foam off so my jelly will be clear. You won’t get much foam with this jam.

Stir constantly and bring to a hard boil.  Once it’s at a hard boil (boils while stirring) you will keep it at a boil for 1 (one) minute!  Then remove from heat and ladle into hot jars.

Leave 1/2 inch head space.

Leave 1/2 inch head space.

Wipe jar put on lid and ring and…

Make sure jar is clean so you get a good seal.

Make sure jar is clean so you get a good seal.

return it to boiling water and process for 10 minutes.

Here's a peek!. Now leave the lid on and boil for a full 10 minutes!

Here’s a peek!. Now leave the lid on and boil for a full 10 minutes!

So, ya what do ya think?  Sound intriguing? I hope you give it a try!  Leave a comment to let me know what you think please or what flowers or herbs or combination of you try!  If you want to try it but don’t have any roses you can order rose petals here.

And as always, if you need or want to make anything I’ve made you can find all the herbs or essential oils here:  Mountain Rose Herbs. A herbs, health and harmony c

4 thoughts on “Rose Jelly

  1. Thanks for the recipe! I had looked everywhere for a lower sugar floral jelly recipe and this was the only one I could find. Most recipes seem to call for at least the same amount of sugar as liquid or even more…eep! It was my first time using flowers and I chose redbuds. The recipe was so easy and set up beautiful! Super tasty too! Thanks again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

