Hair rinse vs Conditioner

Soft, shiny, yummy smelling hair.  That’s what I used to think when I was still using conditioner (yes, I still wash my hair).  But as I decided to green up my life I started hearing about using vinegar as a rinse.  So I gave it a try and after trial and error I will never go back to conditioner.  No, I do not smell like a pickle;  You can ask my teenager who loves to pick on me whenever the chance arises. Let me tell you what I’ve learned…

I used to use a heavenly smelling conditioner that was in a pump bottle of my favorite color.  When I went to using vinegar as a hair rinse instead I missed the smell and the feeling.  Once I got my recipe figured out I was sold.  My hair is softer, less greasy and the itchy scalp I used to get is gone!  I decided to do a little searching and here is, yet another reason I won’t go back: Stearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Cetyl Alcohol, Fragrance, Bis Aminopropyl Dimethicone, Disodium EDTA, Benzyl Alcohol, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.  Those are some of  the ingredients!  I can’t even pronounce some of that!  So if your still not convinced take a look at this:

It actually comes to $0 .0075 an ounce!

ACV Rinse actually comes out to  $0.0075 per ounce!

So how do you make it?  EASY!  First off let me say that this recipe is NOT for hair that’s been dyed and I don’t know about permed.  So what do you need? Vinegar, water, a pump bottle and herbs if desired!  I use rosemary since it’s good for dark hair but a bit more on that later.  I will show you how to do it if you want it to be infused with a beneficial herb or you can skip those steps and go with  a 3:1 ratio, water to Apple Cider Vinegar. Want to special it up a bit? Tailor make it for your hair?  Let me show you how. Here’s what you need.

 

Pump Bottle, funnel, 3 cups water, 1 cup apple cider and herbs for infusion.

Pump Bottle, funnel, 3 cups water, 1 cup apple cider and herbs for infusion.

Rosemary and chamomile

Rosemary and chamomile

 

I get the Rosemary out of the garden so it is free (see why I love to garden) and it has the best smell.  Never pick off more than a third of any herb at one time.  So I aimed for three big ones that are looking like they are older.  The other stuff you see is Chamomile that came back! If you don’t have a garden you can get the herbs here.

Bring it in and rinse it well.  Then chop or cut it up and put it in a small pan with three cups of water.

Rosemary chopped and in 3 cups water.

Rosemary chopped and in 3 cups water.

Cover and turn heat to medium.  When it starts to simmer turn off the heat, keep covered and leave on the hot burner for 45 minutes.

45 minutes

45 minutes

 

Remove from heat and let cool while being covered. Is it cool? Mine is still warmish but not hot so it’s fine to continue.

Get your bottle ready by putting a funnel in it and pouring in one cup of apple cider vinegar.

1 cup acv

1 cup ACV

Now strain the liquid and add to the bottle (I told you it was easy). I have a small measuring cup so it took a few trips to the strainer it to get through it all and I just added it to the bottle as I went.  When you get to the end just squeeze all the goodness out of the herbs into your bowl, or measuring cup if you’re like me, and compost then put the herbs into the compost.

017

I use muslin cloth to strain with (washable and no waste)

Now add the rest of the infused water to the pump bottle, label and enjoy.  I recommend giving the bottle a bit of a shake before each use (probably just habit for me but I’m OK with that).  Use it as you would use conditioner.  You can even leave it in for added benefits.

Rosemary ACV Rinse

Two things to remember:

This is NOT for dyed hair and use before you shave (vinegar burns, trust me I know).

Tips: This is what I learned from Mountain Rose Herbs!  If you want to give it a try. You can order the herbs here. I highly recommend this company for herbs, oils, teas, almost anything you need.  I have been very pleased with them and their quality.

Herbs for Hair Care:
Normal hair: Basil, Calendula, Chamomile, Horsetail, Lavender, Linden flowers, Nettle, Parsley leaf, Rosemary, Sage, Watercress.

Dry hair and scalp: Burdock root, Calendula, Chamomile, Comfrey leaf, Elder flowers, Horsetail, Lavender, Marshmallow root, Nettle, Parsley leaf, Sage.

Oily hair and scalp: Bay leaf, Burdock root, Calendula, Chamomile, Horsetail, Lemon Balm, Lavender, Lemon peel, Lemongrass, Nettle, Peppermint, Rosemary, Thyme, Witch Hazel bark, Yarrow leaf and flower.

Scalp conditions (dandruff, sensitive skin, inflammation, itchiness, dermatitis): Burdock root, Calendula, Chamomile, Comfrey leaf, Eucalyptus, Horsetail, Lavender, Marshmallow root, Nettle, Oregano, Peppermint, Rosemary, Sage, Thyme.

Hair loss/thinning: Basil, Nettle, Rosemary, Sage.

Golden highlights: Calendula, Chamomile, Lemon, Sunflower petals.

Dark highlights: Black Tea, Black Walnut hulls (crushed or chopped), Comfrey root, Nettle, Rosemary, Sage.

Red highlights: Calendula, Henna, Hibiscus flowers, Red Clover flowers, Rose hips, Red Rose petals.

 

So are you gonna give it a try?  I was a bit nervous so I tend to wait till I run out of a product before trying something new.  This recipe should hold be good for about a year.  What  do you think?  Any ideas or thoughts are welcome!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hair rinse vs Conditioner

  1. great minds think a like! I just posted on going shampoo and conditioner free a few days ago! I didn’t have pics though, I will have to figure out how to do that lol. I also didn’t use any herbs so I will be trying this as well! However, I have colored hair, so do you know why your recipe isn’t good for that?

Leave a Reply

