Grand-baby and laundry soap

The grand-baby has arrived!  He weighed in at 7 lb, 13 oz and was 22 inches long.  Mamma and baby are both home now and doing really good.

I want to show other people what I do to go green and save money so today I made laundry detergent and I took pictures so I could show you too.  Why make it?  Well look at what’s in the laundry detergent: (look here). Eeek! I can’t even pronounce some of those ingredients!   Yes, Tide is a great detergent but it’s not worth it when I think about my kids with sensitive skin.  My laundry detergent cleans just as well and apple cider vinegar in the rinse cycle makes sure no residues linger on the clothes and removes odors.

Oh-ya, the cost.  Here’s a chart of how mine costs:

$3.16 for 5 gallons of laundry detergent!

Yes 5 gallons for $3.16! Now for the side by side cost comparison: 

Tide is $0.19 and homemade is $0.04!

It says $.04 a load but it’s actually less!  My program won’t let me do half cents so it rounds up! I also use it as a pre-treatment and I don’t worry about how much laundry I have to do.

How do I make it, I’ll show ya.  First off most recipes call for a 5 gallon bucket and gallon bottles are easier for me to come by so I do it this way.

You will need Borax, Washing Soda and Castile Soap.

Washing Soda, Borax and Castile soap

Fill a stock pot about half full with water and add 2 cups Borax and 2 cups Washing Soda.  Stir over medium heat till dissolved.

It will be cloudy at first

Cloudy at first

 and then once it is dissolved it will clear up.

Clear after dissolving

Clear after dissolving

            Add ½ cup Castile Soap, stir well and remove from heat.

1/2 cup Castile soapNow I hope you have your 5  1-gallon jugs rinsed out and ready to be filled.

Remove from heat and divide evenly (while still hot!) into the 5 jugs.

Measuring cup, funnel and big sink make this easy!Your almost done!  Add enough hot water to fill,

Hot water

Hot water

Then close, give it a shake label it however your heart desires and-

Voila 5 gallons of laundry soap ready to use.  Let it sit over night and give it a shake before you use it.  It is not thick at all so don’t think you messed up.  We just don’t add all the crud that makes it thick.  Also, because of how watery it feels you can safely use it in your front loader like me!  I’ve had a front loader for a year now, been making my soap for two years at least and not one problem!

Laundry soap!

Laundry soap!

Use 1/4 – 1/2 cup per load and as usual, use apple cider vinegar in the rinse cycle!

One thought on “Grand-baby and laundry soap

Leave a Reply

