The trials of mom-hood, tomatoes, peppers and deer

First off, we are truly blessed.  A friend of ours filled his deer tag and then gave us the deer.  Then my husband filled his tag with a good sized deer.  Linda came over and we did the butchering, grinding and wrapping for all of it ourselves so that none would go to waste.  Lucas unfortunately did not get his deer this year.  Elk season is about to start and my husband and Lucas are going to head out for 6 days and 5 nights to go get some meat for us.  Eric has his elk, bear and cougar (we would not eat that) tag.  Lucas has his bear and cougar (still wouldn’t eat it) tag.  They will be camping with around 6 other family members but it is cold and they expect snow!  I am proud of the man and child for doing this to supply food for our family but I am not blind and also know that they love this kind of stuff and would hunt anything they could get a tag for even if they had to give up all the meat.

Tomatoes reddening up

Peppers drying in the window!

The frost came a ways back so I have a basket in my kitchen with lots of green and now red tomatoes.  I also have a window decorated with a string of peppers that are drying for later use.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Also, just to let everyone know kids have been keeping me on the run:

Oct. 25- Wake up Lucas to find he has poison oak on his face.  I call the Dr. and she says “poison oak on face or groin must be seen.”  We go in and he goes on Steroids for 4 days since he can’t use the regular topical cream around his eye.

Nov. 4- I call the Dr. to see about getting Liberty checked out.  I suspect a UTI or something of that nature due to the constant accidents and the inability to ‘hold it’.  We go in and she has an accident in the waiting room and soaks everything below her waist including the floor.  No, I have no extra pants, (she has wet them all and they are at home in the dryer).  So we get a diaper to put on her and bag for all her wet stuff.  Couldn’t get a cup or her to the bathroom in time to get a urine sample.  So now she can’t go and they need a sample.  The staff puts a U-bag on her which is like a baggy with a sticky top that goes around your nether region so that it will catch your urine.   Four trips to the bathroom so she can go and no results the Dr. checks the bag and sees a few drops so she takes it for a dip test thing.  She says a sizable sample would be nice but not necessary and she goes to run the test on the few precious drops of urine.  Then Liberty finally has to go and wa-la she really goes, and in the toilet.  We get a sizable sample and the Dr. says she definetly has a UTI or something so she puts Liberty on Sulfa for 10 days and will send her sample to the lab for further testing.

Nov. 8- Lucas comes home from school saying he was playing and when he fell another kid did too and landed on Lucas’s chest with his knee and it hurts.  No sign of bruising and no cracking or popping sound so we do the ‘wait and see’ routine.  Nov. 9- Lucas wakes up and says his chest hurts really bad and it hurts when he takes a deep breath.  We go to the Dr. to make sure he didn’t do anything significant to himself.  I get a lesson in anatomy: ribs around the sternum are mostly cartilage and they connect to the sternum with little joints.  That makes a chest a bit more flexible and Lucas age is when the chest has the most give.  Needless to say my son bruised the joints around his sternum.- Boys.

Nov. 10- Eric wakes me up at 5:30 this morning to tell me that Gavin just got vomited.   (Sigh) ok is my response.  Gavin is sleeping in his bed so I go back to sleep until he crawls in my bed at 6:00 and then throws up in my bed (sigh again).  We are all up now.  Get the kids off to school and Gavin is still on the couch trying to keep crackers and toast down and not succeeding very well.

8 thoughts on “The trials of mom-hood, tomatoes, peppers and deer

  1. Aw the joys and trials …lol…..very nice blog. Good to see you keeping up with the seasons and ends of gardens while your guys go get the meat. So if you don’t eat the cougar, you just sell the hides or what?
    One thing about kids for sure, they will live thru this sickness and injuries. lol….Sounds like you had a very eventful week!!
    Hope all is better now. LOVE the tomatoes. those are pretty nice size for this time of year still…

  2. Oh my goodness honey, a bit of a stressful week for you, all of you by the sounds of it. I hope everyone is feeling great soon and that you all stay healthy, well once you are all back to healthy again I mean. Your tomatoes look like they are ripening up beautifully and I love your little string of peppers across your window….how cool. It is nice to know God is supplying all your food/meat needs and in such great ways so that you will get healthy meat that is not full of chemicals and hormones or any other stuff they feed animals raised to be butchered. I am glad the boys have their cougar tag so if they have one come close they can shoot it if need be. If they get a bear, hopefully it will be a berry fed bear and not a fish fed bear. Also if they get a bear make sure you remove every single bit of fat from the meat…do not cook it with fat. Very important for you to remember this!!! What a great thing that Eric and Lucas are hunting together though…good bonding for them, well they are pretty bonded anyway but more is always good. Wonderful blog honey!! And, I love the pictures! I love you!!

    • If one of them get a bear we will get the whole thing made into jerky and pepperoni I think. I know about the fat, I remember pancakes cooked with bear fat-YUCKY!
      I love the thought of meat that isn’t pumped full of hormones!

  3. Wow, it appears that you have had a run with injurgies and sicknesses. I hope that your family is well now and stays that way. I am so glad that Eric and Lucus get that preious time together bonding because that is truly a blessing. I miss you guys and hope to see ya soon.

    Crystal

  4. love the blog and all your news; I am sure all the kids are healthy again…its been a couple of weeks. Luv deer and bear jerky – if you like spicy add a few crushed red peppers to some. Yummy! Those tomatoes look delish!

    How funny that you and Jen have started canning! Used to love that, but once we could buy ‘canned’ foods we stuck to just making jams/jellies. We came from the era of canning foods, making home made bread DAILY, etc. with no other choices. I still remember when canned foods started, then came frozen which was healthier.

    Love you ShelliRie!! LOVE your blogs…

Leave a Reply

