Walking has inspired me and free stuff rocks!

Well, a great update on the working to be healthier front.  I walked 16 miles last week in four days!  I started walking with some friends and it’s been great!  Out tops for one morning is six miles but it was great!  I feel so much better for it!  It’s made me feel so much better!!!!

I got all the yard work done last week and that means, weed and feeded the whole yard, weeding all flower beds and spraying round-up on the blackberries that like to try to grow in the middle of the yard.  I know round-up and weed and feed isn’t very green but I don’t know what else to use.  I did remember to let my husband know that when he mowed not to put the grass clippings in my compost bin.

Yesterday, I saw an ad on-line for free leftovers from a big yard sale so I loaded up Deanna, my 17 year old daughter, and we went to check it out!  She has now got so much stuff for when she gets her place this year after she graduates high school.  It feels good to help her and who cares if it’s new of not and free is the best price.  Plus that is less stuff to go into the landfill and we can put money to stuff she needs (and now it will be less).  She got dishes galore, glasses, a blender, coffee pot, vacuum, computer chair, crock pot, wineglasses (it’s a teenage girl thing) and all kinds of kitchen utensils that no one ever thinks to buy till the need it!  I also got a much needed blender for our house along with a rice cooker and a few other things!

Last night I sorted and boxed all Deanna’s ‘new to her’ stuff so that it will be able to be stored my shop, as soon as it’s opened to me. That’s another story that I will share in a minute.   I know it’s hard to get all that stuff and then box it up but what I told her is that once she gets her own place it will be like Christmas when she opens her boxes!    Then today I organized/purged my pantry, laundry room and game cupboards.  I feel great.  All the stuff I am getting rid of will be given away for free or donated!

We got good news a few weeks ago.  The garage on our property that our landlords use will be ours to use as soon as they get the stuff out!  That means that Eric’s, my husband, shop/big shed will be mine all mine!  It will be used to store canned food (which it already does) as well as stuff for Deanna for her first place, grow into clothes for the kids, etc…

Oh-ya, my Packers beat Eric’s Panther today!

Feel free to leave a comment!

2 thoughts on “Walking has inspired me and free stuff rocks!

  1. So hard to believe that Deanna is that big! They all grow – used to love canning, then canned stuff came along! Used to be a family event at our house during the summer, and then we’d have all our goodies all winter long. Luv homemade jelly – and syrup!
    Nice to hear you are healthy and happy – that’s the best way to be! Sure do love and miss you SR!!

Leave a Reply

